Nigerian Kenneth Ize Among 20 Honourees at the Fashion Awards 2020

Kenneth Ize
Kenneth Ize has been selected for his support of the communities of weavers, artisans and design groups across Nigeria through his work. The designer’s support of local craftsmanship through his Ilorin factory and the celebration of Blackness through his work is exceptional.

His category focuses on the impact fashion has on communities in light of the pandemic as well as the role skills and craftsmanship can play in sustaining local livelihoods.

The Fashion Awards 2020, took on an entirely new format, both in terms of a digital film premiere and through recognising the people and organisations who led change in the fashion industry in 2020.The Honourees were revealed in the Fashion Awards film premiere today on and is now available for everyone to watch. The 30 minute film documents the year in fashion and brings together a selection of next generation opinion leaders and creatives to share their personal perspective of the impact of 2020 and the stand out moments of change. 20 individuals and brands were recognised in honour of their specific contribution to one of four categories: Community, Creativity, Environment and People.Over 800 key members of the international fashion industry, spanning 28 countries, were called upon to nominate who they thought should receive an accolade. The list was then run through a matrix to decide the final 20 Honourees based on their exceptional contribution, meeting the set-out criteria and number of nominations received.The BFC continues its collaboration with the United Nations Office for Partnerships (UNOP) to further engage the fashion industry in the Decade of Action to Deliver the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The BFC has worked with the Conscious Fashion Campaign to assign the SDG which aligns best to explanation of why they have been honoured for leading positive change at The Fashion Awards 2020.The awards for Community were presented by Priyanka Chopra Jonas. The awards for People were presented by Lewis Hamilton. The awards for Environment were presented by Aja Barber and Maisie Williams. The awards for Creativity were presented by Rosalía.

Other Recepient were